Posted by: PunkiePixie | November 16, 2007

In one week’s time…

I’ll be coming out of a movie theater and fighting off a turkey-induced coma. My mom wants to see Enchanted, which I’m not thrilled about; I’m not a fan of the strangeness that is this movie. It’s a fairy tale… in live action. It’s a Disney movie, complete with a prince and princess and evil queen…. set in New York. Oy! It looks funny, but I have an uneasy feeling about it. Granted, my mom can be the cheesiest person on the planet, but she can’t help it! She was a teacher for 40 some odd years. But it can’t be good when the primary reason she wants to see the film is because the main character’s name is Giselle, yes, Giselle. Isn’t that the name of one of Cinderella’s evil stepsisters? (Oh yeah, I’m that big of a Disney Dork… remember I worked at Disney World for 9 months). Well, my mom wants to see the movie because her niece, whom she raised which makes her my sister/cousin (weird I know, it’s complicated) is named Maria Giselle and my mom calls her by her middle name. Everyone in the family calls her by her middle name… oh she hates it too. That’s another story.

So, here I am not thrilled by Thanksgiving this year b/c well, it means that the traditional movie night will feature something I’m not too keen on seeing. I’d rather see Fred Claus. But, good news! I made an agreement with my mom that if I go and see Enchanted on Thanksgiving, we can go see Fred Claus on Friday. YAY! So, at least I get to see something i want to see. Now, I’m praying that I don’t get sick b/c last year I wanted to see Borat and I just had to get the cold from hell. My fingers are crossed that I won’t get sick!

And in the spirit of the gluttony that is the Thanksgiving dinner, here’s one of my favorite recipes from my grandma’s kitchen (gods I miss her cooking! RIP nonna)

Toasted Bread Crumbs (a pasta topping)

1 lb of spaghetti or linguine, cooked al dente… DO NOT OVERCOOK (that’s blasphemy!)
1-2 tbsps of olive oil
1 cup bread crumbs (the Progresso Italian seasoned type is what my family uses)
1 onion, finely cut (like really super tiny)
1 jar sundried tomatoes, diced (either oil cured or the dry packaged
type refreshed in boiling water)
a few hand fulls of Romano or Parmesan cheese
1 jar tomato sauce (our favorite is Francesco Rinaldi
Tomato, Garlic & Onion, when we can’t be bothered to make our own.)

cook pasta according to package instructions for “al dente” results. do not overcook the pasta or this won’t taste right.

heat the oil in a skillet. once oil is hot add onions and cook until
golden brown (about 5 minutes). now add bread crumbs and cook until
golden brown and toasty (it should smell like good toast). now stir in
sundried tomatoes and let cook for 1-2 minutes and remove from heat.

mix in cheese and put in a gravy boat.

drain pasta when done. put pasta back in the pot and add in freshly boiled tomato sauce, about a half jar’s worth. stir until all of the pasta is coated with sauce.

serve pasta and sprinkle with bread crumbs and top with a tbsp of tomato sauce. put the leftover sauce in a second gravy boat and place both gravy boats on the table in case anyone wants extra.

stir well, and enjoy!

that’s how my grandma did it… she went one step further and made her
own tomato sauce, but that takes ages to do and is such a pain

Happy Thanksgiving (a week early)

Responses

  1. Well, Giselle is also the name of a major model who got impregnated by Tom Brady of the Patriots and had his kid… maybe that’s where they picked up the name from?

  2. Happy Belated Thanksgiving!! I hope you had a wonderful time and let me know what you thought of the movie.


Leave a Reply

Categories

