Posted by: PunkiePixie | October 8, 2007

A Fair-ly Good Weekend

This past weekend was the Berlin Fair. It’s a big deal in my hometown, there’s not much else that happens there. The Berlin Lions Club hosts the events at the town fairgrounds every year. The event is so big that the schools get a half day on the Friday of the fair and every kid in town submits something into the youth exhibition. Even the art teachers get into the act and have kids draw, paint, or sculpt submissions. Every kid gets a prize. It’s a big deal. I grew up doing this.

As an adult, I’ve entered in items into the needlework exhibition and last year was my first year doing so with my items placing 2nd and 3rd. This year, I entered 6 items and hoped for the best as the judging is tough. I fared well, and there was tough competition this year too as younger and younger craftsters add their items into the exhibition. It’s not your grandma’s knitting exhibition anymore!

This year, all my items ribboned garnering everything from 1st place to 4th. Here are my entries with their ribbons after they came home from the fair.

4th place
pattern: Amanda’s Squatty Sidekick
yarn: Patons Classic Merino Wool, “rosewood”

DSC00042.JPG

3rd place
pattern: Fetching
yarn: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes, “rain” (discontinued color)

pattern: Summer Berry Hat by Jan-Knit (pattern currently unpublished, I was a test knitter)
yarn: Patons Classic Merino Wool, red & leaf green

pattern: Cold Shoulders Capelet from Stitch ‘N’ Bitch Crochet: The Happy Hooker
yarn: Patons Divine

DSC00037.JPG

DSC00043.JPG

DSC00040.JPG

2nd place
pattern:Clapotis
yarn: Elann.com Adara, “lagoon”

DSC00041.JPG

1st place
pattern: Tyrolean Stockings by Ann Budd, Interweave Knits fall 2007
yarn: Knit Picks Swish Superwash, “Squirrel Heather”

DSC00039.JPG

Responses

  1. Congrats on your ribbons!!

  2. Yay you! I always think about knitting something to enter in the state fair but I never get around to looking up the forms etc. Good for you. I love the color you used for clapotis


Leave a Reply

Categories

