Posted by: PunkiePixie | May 25, 2007

What’s Cookin’?

I posted this recipe over on the Knitty Coffeeshop message boards. I thought it was worth posting to the blog.

It’s a recipe for chicken… chicken that won’t be dry once finished. Impossible you ask? Why no. This recipe will always come out moist and yummy. I invented it in college as a way for me to eat fresh, healthy food and to keep me from ordering pizza every night. It only takes 30 minutes from prep to plate. One tip, use real rice, not Minute Rice *gags*. Start cooking the rice when you start cooking the chicken and everything will be done at the same time.

Collegiate Salsa Cheese Chicken
1 lb (454 g) chicken breast
1 10 oz (295 mL) jar salsa (the gourmet kind is best… especially the roasted kind)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 cup dry rice, cooked.

heat a pan with a coating of your favorite oil. once the pan is hot, add the chicken and cook each side until brown (don’t cook through). now add the salsa, the whole jar. lower the heat to medium low and let simmer for 20 minutes. once chicken is done, remove the pan from the heat and add the cheese.

serve over rice.

it comes out moist every time and tastes wonderful!

There’s other variations on the braised chicken over rice that I invented in college.

Same as above, but substitute the salsa for 10 oz (295 mL) of Orange Juice mixed with 1 shot (3 tablespoons/45mL) of Amaretto Di Saronno® and instead of the cheese, finish with 1 tbsp (57 g) organic sweet cream butter (it has the best flavor)

Another way it can be done…. is cut out the cheese completely (and the butter too). and use the 10 oz (295 mL) of Orange Juice mixed with 3 tbsps (45 mL) of Tabasco® brand Chipotle pepper sauce

With the orange juice recipes, you’ll want to simmer the chicken for 30 minutes instead of 20 to produce a thick sauce of concentrated orange juice.

I shared these recipes with the program coordinator at my college and my accounting professor overheard it and was in shock… for one thing, he had no clue I could cook, let alone be creative in the kitchen. He was impressed by my handiwork in the kitchen b/c just hearing my recipes made his mouth water. It’s one of my proudest moments b/c this professor is almost impossible to impress.

*Note: my dad managed to kill my cable modem, so it might be a long while before my next post as I’ll have to post from work until we get a new modem

Leave a Reply

Categories

