Posted by: PunkiePixie | December 5, 2006

Not-Quite-Knit Arm Warmers (crochet)

This is my first attempt at pattern writing, and I’m so proud of myself!!!! I wanted to make a pair of arm warmers but couldn’t find a pattern I liked that was written for crochet. So, I decided to make my own, and to make sure I wouldn’t mess up the second arm of the set, I scribbled down what I did for the first one and it came out to be a pretty good pattern! They look like knit, but they’re not, they’re totally crochet from beginning to end!

Okay, so here it is.

Supplies:

2– 3.5 oz skeins of Lion Brand Lion Wool Prints in “Ocean Blues” (or whatever color you like)
crochet hook, size I
(my arms are very muscular from a lifetime of knitting/crocheting, dance, and sports, use a smaller gauge hook if you have thinner arms)

update: someone took the liberty of modifying the pattern to suit her own needs. click here to take a peek.

i’ve had a few questions concerning the ribbed cuff of the armwarmer. i’ve gone ahead and corrected the error, it can be found in italics. thanks to Sheryl and Erin to pointing it out to me in their comments. 🙂

abbreviation glossary
special stitches:
dcfp: double crochet around the front of the post. To make Front Post Double Crochet (dcfp) : Yo and insert hook from the front to the back around the post of the dc on the previous row. Complete as for regular dc.
dcbp: double crochet around the back of the post. To make Back Post Double Crochet (dcbp) : Yo and insert hook from the back to the front around the post of the dc on the previous row. Complete as for regular dc.

dcfp2tog: yo and instert hook from the front to back around the post of the dc on previous row. yo and pull through first 2 loops. yo insert hook from front to back around post of next dc on previous row. finish as for regular dc.

——
=Left Arm=

ch 40. without twisting, join with sl st to first chain made.

rnd 1: ch 3 (counts as first dc), dc in each ch around. join with sl st to 3rd ch of t-ch. (40 sts)

rnd2: ch 3 *dcfp in next 2 stitches, dcfp in next 2 stitches. repeat from * to end of rnd. join. ch1 (40 sts)

rnds 3-7: repeat rnd 2 from *. (40 sts)

rnd 8: ch 3 *dc in next st. repeat from * join (40 sts)

rnds 9-13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23:
ch 1 dcfp in each st around. join (40 sts).

rnd 14: ch1 dcfp in next 10 sts. dcfp2tog. dcfp in next 16 sts, dcfp2tog. dcfp in last 10 sts. join (38 sts)

rnd 16: ch 1, dcfp in next 10 sts. dcfp2tog. dcfp in next 14, dcfp2tog. dcfp in last 10 sts. join (36 sts)

rnd 18: ch 1, dcfp in next 10 sts. dcfp2tog dcfp in next 12, dcfp2tog. dcfp in last 10 sts. join (34 sts)

rnd 20: ch1, dcfp in next 10 sts. dcfp2tog. dcfp in next 10, dcfp2tog. dcfp in last 10 sts. join (32 sts)

rnd 22: ch 1, dcfp in next 10. dcfp2tog dcfp in next 8 dcfp2tog. dcfp last 10 sts. join. (30 sts)

rnd 24: ch1, dcfp in next 10. dcfp2tog dcfp in next 6. dcfp2tog. dcfp last 10 sts. join (30 sts)

rnds 25-37: rep rnd 9 (30 sts)

rnd 38: ch 1, dcfp 3, ch 5 sk next 5 sts join with dcfp in next st. dcfp around. join. (30 sts)

rnd 39: ch 1, dcfp 3, dc in each ch of ch 5, dcfp around. join (30 sts)

rnd 40: ch 1. dcfp 3, dcfp in each of 5 dc, dcfp around. join. tie off(30 sts)

——-

=right hand=

work the same as left hand until rnd 38.

rnd 38: ch1, turn. dcbp 3, ch 5 sk next 5 sts join with dcfp in next st. dcfp around (30 sts)
rnd 39: ch1, turn. dcbp 3. dc in each ch of ch 5. dcfp remaining. (30 sts)
rnd 40: ch1, turn. dcbp 3. dcbp in each of the next 5 dc. dcbp in remaining sts. join. tie off (30 sts)

weave in all ends.


it’s hard to take a pic of your arm!


aren’t they cool? I’m so proud!

Responses

  1. very cool! you did a great job! 🙂

  2. Well done! This is just what a cold northerner needs for sealing the draft that whistles up my coat sleeves.

  3. Great job! You should be proud,of the work and the pic!:)

  4. Hey,

    I’m working off your pattern right now. Since I couldn’t figure out your snazzy front post double crochets, I’m just using plain simple dcs. I have one done, and plan to finish the next one tonight.

    Your pattern is the only one I could find for arm warmers! I have modified it a bit, and have been writing down what I’ve been doing. Would you mind if I posted a link to your pattern, and post my own along side it?

    Anyway, thank you again for the pattern!
    I’m from New England too…

    –Riss

  5. I am making your Not Quite Knit Arm Warmers for my daughter. I am having no problems, you expained it very nice. I am wondering about row 2, did you mean to dcfp twice, or did you mean to dcfp 2 times and dcbp 2 times. Please let me know. Thank you for this pattern.

    Sheryl Harrold Washington, USA

  6. I’m actually having a similar question to sheryl (above me). I’m confused about round 2. Do I dcfp 2 times in each dc? If so, would the total number of stitches by 80? At the end of your instructions for that round you still say 40 stitches, so I don’t know if I should be increasing.


Categories

